A Little Bit of Life

I’ve had death on the mind lately.  It can happen when a friend and fellow writer has a blog about death and calls herself the Death Writer.  In fact I was featured as the guest blogger for April 10 2012, “J” in her A-Z challenge for April 2012.  But yesterday I had a nice little life moment.

I’ve lost count of how many of my friends and acquaintances are pregnant now.  I can think of four off the top of my head but I know that’s not everyone.  And then there are the people who have given birth within the past months, year, and so on.

I’m so used to hearing the same things from these moms-to-be:

*I can’t wait to wear normal shoes and clothes.

*I can’t wait to see my feet again.

*I want to hold my baby in my arms.

*I’m tired of peeing all the time.

I could go on.

Anyhow, my hairstylist is about seven months pregnant now.  Somehow she finds it in her to stand on her feet on a daily basis to do her artwork and make a living.  I’m not sure I could stand on me feet all day without being pregnant.  In all selfishness I will say that as happy as I am for her and her husband, I am so sad.  She is the best stylist I have ever found.  In fact yesterday she gave me a fabulous new hairstyle without much prodding (she is the most outgoing stylist I’ve ever been to) and I don’t know what I will do when she goes on maternity leave!  At least she is only going to be gone for eight weeks.  Let’s hope she doesn’t decide to become a stay-at-home mom.  Oh, I’m terrible.  But I digress.

I asked her if she was excited for the baby. (As a side note, when I told my mom this, she said, “Of course she’s excited!” Well, yes, but I have to ask anyhow!)  And yes, she said she was.  She can’t wait to see what the baby looks like.

I don’t think anybody has ever said that to me before.

“I just want to see what she looks like.  You know, what color will her hair be?”

Sure, it has to be magical to hold the baby, kiss the baby, have those first moments, but until the baby is born your don’t know what he or she will look like.  You might know it’s a girl, but will she have fine blonde peach fuzz on her head?  How wrinkled will her toes and fingers be?  How pudgy will that little baby tummy be?  What shade of tomato will her face be when they rest her on your chest for the first time?  What color eyes will look into your own?

I’m surprised at myself for being so touched.  It’s the simplicity that makes it so beautiful.  I typically think babies look like little aliens, not many are cute until they pass the infant stage and grow into their humanness, but something about my stylist talking about her unborn baby girl made it seem very real and very human.  And I’m sure her little girl will be gorgeous.

2 thoughts on “A Little Bit of Life

    • You’ve brought up a whole new topic. I went to the same lady for 9ish years and felt so guilty about cheating on her and then finally leaving her. My mom still goes to her and she did our hair for my brother’s wedding. I was so nervous about seeing her and having her do my hair for the wedding because I still feel so guilty. Turns out hair stylists don’t take it as personally as we think. But it took me awhile to find somebody I liked and then she left spontaneously and the salon put me with somebody that person “entrusted with her clients” and that girl ended up being the best stylist EVER. But I think a woman’s life in hair is always an enticing story.

Leave a Reply

